Sponsored by Job CentralRSS

new england patriots’ qb tom brady will sue you

Thu, Dec 7, 2006

Articles

The Smoking Gun is reporting that New England Patriots’ quarterback Tom Brady is suing Yahoo!

Tom Brady … claims that the online giant improperly used his image to promote its fantasy football game.

Is there an Internet recruiting spin on this?

Hmm, if a job board uses an employer’s brand in a pay-per-click ad or creates a page featuring an employer who is not a client, does that employer have the grounds to take similar legal action?

Brady alleges that Yahoo!’s use of his image connotes a false endorsement … .

Not for me to decide, but it would make for some nice buzz in our industry. If you’re an employer, do a search on your company name + “jobs” on Google and see what you find.

You just might be getting “Brady’d” … minus the three Super Bowl rings, of course.

Popularity: 2% [?]







Join Our Mailing List

Cheezhead's FREE Insider E-Mail (Get the Stuff Regular Readers Don't)



We're on Facebook!

Cheezhead | Promote Your Page Too
Cheezhead


Job Search

 Ex : sales, "software engineer"   Location(s) Ex : Dallas,TX or 75219 or TX
 


Other Posts



This post was written by:

Joel Cheesman - who has written 1471 posts on Cheezhead Recruiting News and Opinion.

One of the most widely-read bloggers on emerging recruitment issues in the world. Accomplishments include being named Recruiting.com’s Best Technology Recruitment Blog and Best Recruiting Blog. Joel's been featured in Fast Company magazine, BusinessWeek Magazine, Resumes for Dummies, U.S. News & World Report, The Wall Street Journal and more. Plug into Joel via Twitter, MySpace, Facebook, iTunes, YouTube or Flickr.

Contact the author

1 Comments For This Post

  1. adguide Says:

    There’s a huge difference between using Tom Brady’s photo or other likeness and his name. He’s a public figure so you can refer to him as much as you want and pretty much however you want, but you need his permission to use his photo in most circumstances. Similarly, we can refer to Monster.com, Careerbuilder, Jobster, CollegeRecruiter.com (pardon the plug) as much as we want, but we need their permission to use their logos in most circumstances.

    – Steven Rothberg, CollegeRecruiter.com

Leave a Reply