Sponsored by Job CentralRSS

monster gets ‘phished’

Sat, Jan 20, 2007

Articles

There’s currently some buzz online about a recent e-mail that looks like it’s from Monster.com, touting the “Monster Job Seeker Tool,” that is really a phishing expedition.

The link in the middle, highlighted with a red border by me, says “Please click here to download Monster Job Seeker Tool,” and goes to an executable file from the domain bigmonstersoft.com, which has no connection to the real Monster Worldwide. If you get this message, delete it or feel free to report it to abuse@monster.com. Fortunately, the link doesn’t seem to be working currently.







Other Posts



This post was written by:

Joel Cheesman - who has written 1254 posts on Cheezhead.

One of the most widely-read bloggers on emerging recruitment issues in the world. Accomplishments include being named Recruiting.com’s Best Technology Recruitment Blog and Best Recruiting Blog. Joel's been featured in Fast Company magazine, BusinessWeek Magazine, Resumes for Dummies, U.S. News & World Report, The Wall Street Journal and more. Plug into Joel via Twitter, MySpace, Facebook, iTunes, YouTube or Flickr.

Contact the author

6 Comments For This Post

  1. Peter Gold Says:

    That’s classic irony. An attempted ‘bad’ link doesn’t work on Monster! Maybe they write the search for the site as well……..??

  2. Hubert Samm Says:

    It’s arrogance like this that really pisses me off….. 1) they assume I’m running Windoz, I’M NOT…. 2) Even if I were running Windoz, I definitely would NOT let some company install an “exe” file on my system. 3) I’ve already switched to the competition… I don’t need Monster!!

  3. Iggy Says:

    Like a fool I downloaded the thing and ran it with admin right (WinXP-Pro), but nothing seemed to happen, which is what made me suspicious. Does anyone have any further info on this thing? How do I clean it or know if it has succeeded?

  4. Bervick Says:

    Try using Spybot S&D or other adware removal s/w like Adaware. If its apparent that it removed what you installed, you might be ok.

    A safer thing would be to run Windows System Restore which will restore your system to a date you specified.

    I hope you learned a lesson.

  5. anonymous Says:

    it’s back - it’s circulating around again. 4.9.07

  6. Anonymous Says:

    I asked Monsters LiveChat staff about it before downloading. She said it was safe. Now my computer is dead! I will never use Monster again.

Leave a Reply