Sponsored by Job CentralRSS

ere.net may harm your computer …

Fri, Dec 28, 2007

Articles

Or so says Google. Checkout a recent search result:

ere.net may harm your computer

What does this mean? According to Google, “This warning message appears with search results we’ve identified as sites that may install malicious software on your computer.”

Users even have to go through a warning page before getting to ERE.

Yikes! Now, knowing the gang at ERE, I have a hard time believing their site is a risk. However, Google’s opinion means a lot more than mine. Hopefully it’s something they’ll remedy soon.

Might want to check your own Google listing(s) too.

UPDATE: Be sure to read David Manaster’s comment below.

Popularity: 3% [?]







Join Our Mailing List

Cheezhead's FREE Insider E-Mail (Get the Stuff Regular Readers Don't)



We're on Facebook!

Cheezhead | Promote Your Page Too
Cheezhead


Job Search

 Ex : sales, "software engineer"   Location(s) Ex : Dallas,TX or 75219 or TX
 


Other Posts



This post was written by:

Joel Cheesman - who has written 1471 posts on Cheezhead Recruiting News and Opinion.

One of the most widely-read bloggers on emerging recruitment issues in the world. Accomplishments include being named Recruiting.com’s Best Technology Recruitment Blog and Best Recruiting Blog. Joel's been featured in Fast Company magazine, BusinessWeek Magazine, Resumes for Dummies, U.S. News & World Report, The Wall Street Journal and more. Plug into Joel via Twitter, MySpace, Facebook, iTunes, YouTube or Flickr.

Contact the author

3 Comments For This Post

  1. David Manaster Says:

    Unfortunately, one of our members had a virus that propagates via web forms. Without their knowledge, they were appending viral code to the end their posts in the discussion groups.

    I’m happy to say that we’ve already plugged the security hole that allowed this and cleaned the offending code off the site, so the problem has already been taken care of.

    We’ve also been in touch with Google in order to get them to re-review the site and remove the warning message. We have not yet heard back from them with a timeframe where that will happen, but hopefully it will be soon.

  2. Steve Says:

    My Norton Anti-Virus identified a “virus” and blocked it from ERE.net

  3. David Manaster Says:

    Update: It looks like Google has removed the warning from their search results.

Leave a Reply