Job seekers beware: there’s a new criminal who is targeting CareerBuilder users.
The University of Alabama at Birmingham’s Spam Data Mine is reporting that CareerBuilder is being targeted by a scammer who is claiming to have a new Digital Certificate said to protect customers and is then stealing login credentials to their site.
In the scam, a job posting for a financial assistant is sent to account holders asking them to apply. In reality, according to Gary Warner, UAB’s Director of Research in Computer Forensics, the job seeker will receive a commission for receiving stolen funds into their personal bank accounts and then transferring the funds to the criminals via a wire transfer.
The scam is nothing new, but Warner said that CareerBuilder is the first employment company targeted by this particular criminal, who is looking to recruit more “money mules.”
CareerBuilder
Job Search
Related Posts
- November 24, 2008 -- careerbuilder blitzes, monster throws hail mary
- November 24, 2008 -- new iphone app gets great reviews, but it’ll cost you
- November 18, 2008 -- illinois gets a boost from careerbuilder
- November 11, 2008 -- will job boards compete for super bowl advertising?
- November 10, 2008 -- readers select their favorite job site
- November 10, 2008 -- veterans return home to battle economy
- November 6, 2008 -- comscore: indeed.com pageviews more than careerbuilder, monster
This post was written by:
Vanessa Dennis - who has written 202 posts on Cheezhead.
Vanessa Dennis, originally from Austin, Texas, was a corporate recruiter for two years before becoming a writer for Cheezhead.com.
Vanessa has an English Writing degree from Loyola University of New Orleans. She currently lives with her family in Cleveland.
Contact the author
September 23rd, 2008 at 4:11 pm
An HR director emailed me this in response to the article:
At my previous employer, we got hit with this last year. Someone was posting accounts payable positions under the company name with job locations in small towns throughout the U.S., where my previous employer had absolutely no offices.
Apparently a few people fell for the scam and later contact us about it. Our internal investigation traced the culprit to someone in the U.K. and I believe the trail ran cold after that.
Careerbuilder’s staff responded promptly to take down the false postings and investigate how it happened.